JHB through new eyes!

10 11 2009
Darrin

That's me. Sandton Drive last week

I have lived in Joburg my whole life but only in the last few weeks have I been looking at this amazing place through brand new eyes.

I always knew Joburg was a great place to live but never really understood why!! I have  taken this place for granted and only realised that now. I have been fortunate enough to have traveled all over the world, New York, Spain, Italy, London, Miami, Malawi, Nigeria, Washington DC, Egypt and a few Islands, but not one of those places have what we have and we have so much.

Driving around with my new look on this place I have noticed things that I have never noticed before; the amazing colours of the sunset over the buildings in Joburg as a highveld thunderstorm rolls over, It’s breathtaking,

The shade of the tree’s covering a suburban lane, making it seem like you are in another place, instead of the urban jungle. The calmness and serenity driving along those roads makes me smile.

Talking about smiles… That’s what I have noticed the most. The smiles on the people as I stand on the road side, the smiles from the waitress at my favourite coffee shop. And those smiles turn into hugs the more you go there.

And then. There is the people behind those smiles… your friends, your work collegues, your family, the person you just met standing next to you at the braai, the girl next to you at the bar as you take your last tequllia of the night. The people are what make Joburg this great place to live in.. who needs a mountain, who needs the sea? I would choose our people anyday.

The people that live in Joburg make it great!!

The people that work in Joburg make it great!!

The people that play in Joburg Make it great!!

I make it great!!

But above all that YOU MAKE IT GREAT!!!!

Darrin

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 11 2009
Liam

What an unbelievable initiative!
Since seeing the signs and people on sandton drive last week , I too have opened my eyes to what is awesome in Joburg ,
Yesterday I was given a flower by a stranger in the car next to me in rush hour traffic , They make Joburg great !
I passed it on to a lady at the garage before I got home ,
I make Joburg great ,
I told her the story and she then promised to pass it on .
She makes joburg great.
I wonder how many people have passed that flower on by now and made Joburg great?
To cool !

11 11 2009
allhail

Look at you my Vig…your very first blog. Too proud.

Nice work. 🙂

YOU MAKE JOBURG GREAT!

xxx

Leave a Reply

